Former GP2 Champ on the Virtual F2 Grid

Former GP2 Champ on the Virtual F2 Grid

Former GP2 Champ on the Virtual F2 Grid Valsecchi - FIA Formula 2 News

Former GP2 Series champion Davide Valsecchi will be on the starting grid for this weekend’s virtual Formula 2 event at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Last week’s race was great fun and well appreciated for the support series fans worldwide and with the broadcast going out through the official Formula One channels it is hoped more F1 fans took the time to watch the F2 action.

It was a competitive race as it would be in real life with Prema’s Arthur Leclerc, younger brother of Ferrari, and 2017 F2 champion Charles, claiming both victories in both feature and sprint races from the virtual Bahrain circuit.

Valsecchi became the GP2 Champion in 2012 before turning his hand to commentating for both Formula 1 and Formula 2 in Italy and often for the world feed as many fans may have seen post-Quali and Race interviews.

The grid for this weekend has a few changed to the entry list, with Sebastian Montoya, son of ex-F1 cult hero Juan Pablo joining A. Leclerc in the Prema team.

Sophia Floersch is also making her debut racing for Campos, alongside Williams young driver and race winner Jack Aitken.

Formula 2 experience comes to from Sean Gelael who will link up with 2020 team DAMS, next to Formula E’s Oliver Rowland.

Following on from his virtual victory event We. Race. On. last month as an official (but not technically official) substitute to the real F1 Bahrain Grand Prix. Guan Yu Zhou returns to the E-Grid with 2020 team-mate Callum Ilott for the UNI-Virtuosi team.

Who do you think will take the Pole, R1 and R2 wins this week? Check out the starting grid as published by

Watch on YouTube or Twitch and find out this Sunday, May 10.

F2/F3 – Round 2: Barcelona, Spain

    • Carlin Jack Doohan & Norman Nato
    • ART Grand Prix Davide Valsecchi & Theo Pourchaire
    • DAMS Oliver Rowland & Sean Gelael
    • UNI-Virtuosi Callum Ilott & Guanyu Zhou
    • PREMA Racing Sebastian Montoya & Arthur Leclerc
    • Charouz Racing System Louis Delétraz & Juan Manuel Correa
    • Campos Racing Sophia Floersch & Jack Aitken
    • MP Motorsport Nobuharu Matsushita & Felipe Drugovich
    • BWT HWA RACELAB Artem Markelov
    • Trident Olli Caldwell Lirim Zendeli


*Image Credit: LAT Images / FIA F2 Championship

_ is your home for Formula 2

We are the world’s number one dedicated source for in-depth coverage and the latest updates on the FIA Formula 2 Championship. Our knowledgable team of motorsport enthusiasts brings you comprehensive interviews, opinions, race reports, breaking news, driver profiles, and insightful analysis with written journalism, media and podcasts. Whether you’re a Formula 1 fan looking to get to know F2 or a dedicated follower looking for up-to-date standings, a captivating podcast, the race calendar, or a deep understanding of Formula 2, has you covered. With a passion for Formula 2, we aim to provide you with an unparalleled experience, keeping you informed about every thrilling moment on the track. Explore our website to stay connected with the world of Formula 2 and discover why is your go-to destination for all things Formula 2 the final step towards F1.

Former GP2 Champ on the Virtual F2 Grid Valsecchi - FIA Formula 2 News